Minutes Presbytery of Saint Andrew

CALLED MEETING 1:30 p.m. on May 30, 2023 First Presbyterian Church of Oxford, Mississippi

ORDER OF BUSINESS

A quorum being present, the Presbytery of St. Andrew met for a called meeting at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 30, 2023, with the Moderator in the chair and the Stated Clerk present. The meeting was opened with prayer by the Moderator.

The Executive Presbyter and Stated Clerk was recognized for the credentials report. He reported that there were a total of 17 voting members present either in person or electronically via Zoom plus an additional 14 visitors and corresponding members for a total enrollment of 31 as follows:

Ministers (10):

Ruling Elders (7):

Buren Blankenship, Moderator Greg Goodwiller, Stated Clerk

Frank Beck

Ann Houston Kelly (Zoom)

Allison Wehrung Barrett Milner

Wil Howie Bob Sharman Jerry Long

Nick Phillips (Zoom)

Allison Ashmore – FPC, Grenada Nancy Bryson – Starkville PC Charles Bryson – Starkville PC

Vicki Schramm – Trinity, Starkville (Zoom)

Drew Mauldin - FPC, Oxford

Al Ling – FPC, Oxford

Hardie Frankel – Leland PC (Zoom)

Corresponding Members (1):

Rev. Andy Spaulding (Presbytery of Sheppards & Lapsley)

Visitors (13):

Elizabeth Coon (FPC, Oxford), Melissa Hall (FPC, Oxford), Sally Hines (FPC, Oxford), Mary Haskell (FPC, Oxford), Bradley Goodwiller (FPC, Oxford), Carmille Hovious (FPC, Oxford), Paul Hester (FPC, Oxford), Brent Hardin (FPC, Oxford), David Mills (Camp Hopewell), Luanne Blankenship (Trinity, Starkville), Ellen Kellum (Presbytery Staff), Hanna Mills, Sarah Leer.

He then moved that this be established as the roll for the meeting, and that minister members not present and sessions not represented be excused. The motion was seconded adopted by unanimous consent.

He then presented the Special Rules of Order for the meeting, and moved that they be adopted. The motion was seconded and approved by unanimous consent.

The moderator then requested that those present electronically and those speaking after someone

present electronically pause briefly after being recognized to allow for lag time in the signal, and for the sound technician to turn microphones and speakers on and off.

He then stated the call for the meeting, which was to examine the Rev. Andy Spaulding for membership in the Presbytery of St. Andrew and installation as Associate Pastor of FPC, Oxford, and to install David Mills as Executive Director of Camp Hopewell.

The Moderator then recognized Frank Beck for the report of the Commission on Ministry. He introduced Rev. Andy Spaulding, and then proceeded with the examination of his Christian experience and his views in theology, worship and Sacraments, and the government of this church, with other members of the Commission on Ministry leading the questioning in some areas. Following opportunities for questions from the floor, he moved that Rev. Spaulding be received into the membership of the Presbytery of St. Andrew and installed as Associate Pastor of First Presbyterian Church, Oxford effective June 14, 2023, with terms of call being those approved by the Commission on Ministry as follows:

Salary	\$45,000
Housing	25,000
SECA	4,340
Board of Pensions	27,300
Travel	3,500
Dental Insurance	397
Vision Insurance	47
Telephone Stipend	1,080
Continuing Education / Books	2.500
Clergy/Spouse Retreat	
Moving expenses	full
4 Weeks Vacation	
2 Weeks Study Leave	
1 Weekend Clergy/Spouse retreat	

Total Annual Compensation: \$109,464

The motion was adopted by raised hand vote.

The Executive Presbyter and Stated Clerk then presented details of the proposed Administrative Commission to install Rev. Spaulding as Associate Pastor of First Presbyterian Church as follows:

Service to be held at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday, July 30, 2023 at First Presbyterian Church, Oxford, with the Commission composed of the following presbyters:

Minister members: Ruling Elder members:

Barrett Milner Al Ling – FPC, Oxford (Moderator)

Wil Howie Melissa Hall – FPC, Oxford Cathy Yeoman – FPC, Pontotoc

Additional presbyters seated with the Commission:

Rev. Ben Brannon (Presbytery of the Peaks)

Rev. Alex Lester-Abdalla (Presbytery of Philadelphia)

Rev. Collin Pettigrew (Presbytery of the Foothills)

Frank Beck moved that the Administrative Commission as read be so appointed. The motion was seconded and adopted by raised hand vote, and Rev. Spaulding was welcomed to the Presbytery.

The Executive Presbyter and Stated Clerk was then recognized to introduce Ruling Elder David Mills to the body as the new Executive Director of Camp Hopewell. Moderator Blankenship then led a service of installation in which Mr. Mills affirmed his Christian faith and commitment, as well as his acceptance of his new responsibilities. The service closed with a prayer of installation, and a blessing and charge.

The business for the meeting have been accomplished, the meeting was then adjourned with prayer by Bob Sharman at 2:20 p.m.

Approved 9/13/23

In fle